A055 - 1979-12-31 - Long Beach, CA - Long Beach Arena

    Disc One
    DOVE, the Band of Love:
  1. Worried Man (cut)
  2. Praying Hands
  3. Shrivel Up
  4. Gates of Steel
  5. Jesus
  6. Gotta Serve Somebody

  7. DEVO:
  8. Come Back Jonee (EZ playback)
  9. General Boy Intro
  10. Freedom of Choice Theme
  11. Whip It
  12. Girl U Want
  13. Penetration in the Centerfold
  14. Timing X
  15. Wiggly World
  16. Secret Agent Man
  17. Pink Pussycat
  18. Blockhead
  19. Be Stiff
  20. Uncontrollable Urge
  21. Mongoloid
  22. Come Back Jonee

Disc Two
  1. Rod's Big Reamer (film)
  2. Satisfaction
  3. Jocko Homo
  4. Smart Patrol/Mr. DNA
  5. Gut Feeling/(Slap Your Mammy)
  6. U Got Me Bugged (Booji Boy)
  7. Fountain of Filth (Booji Boy)
  8. DEVO Corporate Anthem
  9. Gates of Steel


good (sample)


Jeff Rice




One of the singular most unique shows in the collection. Features early versions of a few songs and the only known recorded performance of DEVO's alter-ego, DOVE. "Jesus" is "Beulah" with Jesus' name substituted for every instance of Beulah's. Also includes first performance of "Fountain of Filth" and only performance of "U Got Me Bugged".


This show is a blast to listen to, especially Dove's religion-injected renditions of classic tunes. Whoever recorded it was smart to record Dove. Though the audio quality is a bit rough, this is most definitely an essential show to have. We're working on getting a higher-quality recording.